RSS

Following After Christ Wholeheartedly

10 Oct

Question Text:  “The biggest thing they say to me is that, being a Christian has consumed my entire life and I can say that it has, but isn`t that good? I don`t know anymore, I broke down today after I was pretty much told that I am addicted to my bible. You see I don`t know if I`m doing things right or doing things wrong. I am just trying to live a godly life apart from the ways of the world. I get told this just when I start feeling closer to God which has been the case for the past few days, and the past months too. This was closest to God I have been, but the hardest I have fallen away from him also. Things happen too fast, I don`t know if this is part of Christian persecution or if it is me?”

Answer Text:

I am so very glad that I met another person who wants to follow after Christ wholeheartedly. Your plight was mine some forty years ago as a late teen-ager. But I thank the Lord that I was taught to continue in my life-style for the glory of God. The problem with today’s Christianity is that they are all ‘believers’ in God and in Jesus. But Jesus our Lord asked His disciples to go and make ‘disciples’ of all nations (Mt.28:19). Instead of making disciples Christianity has made believers out of people. Js.2:19 says that even demons believe and tremble. To be a believer with out repenting is useless.

The so-called “easy-believism” has made Christianity another religion with out a heart. They all give assent to a set of doctrines and call themselves Christians. Recently a gay bishop of the Anglican Church threw a challenge in the TV to disqualify him as a Christian. He said no one could disqualify him as a Christian because he believes in every one of the creeds of Christianity and he believes in all the major doctrines of the Bible with out a question. To him being a Christian means to believe in a set of doctrines.

But that is not what our Lord preached. His terms of discipleship are strong and strenuous. He does not want happy-go-lucky and half-hearted believers. He wants people to follow Him with red-hot zeal as He followed after God. The passion which consumed Him about the things of God is our model. The way He looked at the world is our pattern. The way He mingled with sinners is the way we are to do. We are asked to follow in His foot steps. He said that the world would hate you. He said that people would despise you and speak all manner of evil against you falsely. Yet He asked us to follow in His foot steps.

One of the simplest but best ways of presenting the teachings of Christ about discipleship is done by William MacDonald in his book titled “True Discipleship”. I am sure that you are familiar with it. If not, please get it and read it for yourself. You will find that you are on the right track. Here is a review about the book which I found in Amazon. I am giving it with out editing it. I am sure that you will agree with the reviewer. “the Bible is filled with hard-hitting truth, but most of the time i choose to overlook, forget, or explain it away. this book brings them out front, points to them and says, `do it!` the call of Christ to discipleship is not easy, but it`s the best life to live. i can`t say that i`ve read every book there is on discipleship, there may be other good or better books, but God has used this one in my own life, and that`s what i can tell u. i recall one chapter that says the church today is far from zealous; communists in the world today are more zealous for their cause than Christians are for Christ, this is a serious indictment. one line that will stick in my mind for some time is `faith that costs nothing is worth nothing.` God desires our suffering and trials to produce a faith refined by fire, proven true with testing (1 peter 1:7). this book has challenged me tremendously, i would recommend this to anyone who wants to get out of complacency and apathy” review by T. Yu. Dustin,

you will also do well to read the book by John Mac Arthur called “The Gospel According to Jesus”. I wish to tell you that it is your formative days and as you spend time in God’s presence and fill your heart with the Word of God and meditate up on it night and day (remember that you are not alone, at least the psalmist was doing it) you will begin to see the presence of God filling your life and where ever you go, you will be able to carry the presence of God with you. And god’s manifest presence as experienced by the early believers of Acts will be seen in your life as well.

Please read also the biographies of men of prayer like David Brainard and others and you will know that this was their life-style as well. All those who ridicule you now will also begin to see the manifest presence of God later in life and they will recognize you as a man of God then. Satan does not want that to happen. Hence his tricks by people around you. May God help you to be another Wesley or Moody of our times. To His Name be all glory. Amen.

For articles on prayer and experiences in prayer read www.mathewpaul.org

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 10, 2008 in Christian life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
